3rd Ypres Order of Battle

Third Battle of Ypres


31st July to 10th November 1917.

A total of 54 Divisions were thrown into the meat grinder that was third Ypres.

34th, 42nd and 47th Divisions went into the line on the battle front, but did not take part in any specified battle. 47th Division took part in a minor attack on 22nd August. 34th Division took part in operations on 22nd October.

Space does not allow me to list all of the individual units which made up each Division.

I have therefore listed the Battles which made up 3rd Ypres and also the Divisions that took part.

Anyone requiring further information can contact me and I will give full details.

The Battles of Ypres

Battle of Pilckem, 31st July to 2nd August.

Battle of Langemarck, 16th to 18th August.

Battle Of The Menin Road, 20th to 25th September.

Battle of Polygon Wood, 26th September to 3rd October.

Battle of Broodseinde, 4th October.

Battle of Poelcapelle, 9th October.

First Battle of Passchendaele, 12th October.

Second Battle of Passchendaele, 26th October to 10th November

Divisions (by number) that took part in 3rd Ypres -:

Guards Division, 1st, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 7th, 8th, 9th, 11th, 14th, 15th, 16th, 17th, 18th, 19th, 20th, 21st, 23rd, 24th, 25th, 29th, 30th, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 37th, 38th, 39th, 41st, 42nd, 47th, 48th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 55th, 56th, 57th, 58th, 59th, 61st, 63rd (Royal Naval), 66th,

Dominion Divisions -:

1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 5th Australian.

1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th Canadian.

New Zealand Division.

Many Divisions visited the Ypres Salient on more than one occasion during 3rd Ypres.

For example – The 11th (Northern) Division held the trenches in late July. In August they took part in and attack. On October 4th they took part in the Battle of Broodseinde, attacking and taking Poelcapelle.

Dedicated to Fred Greaves, VC, 9th Battalion Sherwood Foresters. He won his Victoria Cross on 4th October 1917